Comments writ large

Decided to copy and paste all the comments into a single posting as they can sometimes get lost in the layout:

I was informed today about the death of a great man Carl.I only knew him over the last three years, mostly to do with the radio stations he was involved with.I was there today helping to put on K V.FM God i missed his frantic often funny instructions,he made me laugh most of the time (going to miss his jokes by text).Ive spoken today with a few people who knew him a lot more than I did,he was loved by an awful lot of people and that says it all really, what a great guy loved by many and going to be missed by an awful lot of people.God bless Carl his family and friends. Going to miss you mate……..Roy

 

Were would you go to…..? Were did you get that……..? Do you remember when we…..? how can I do that? How did you do that? How do I say…? Were did you Go? x David

 

Helloooo !
I Willl Really Miss Carl He Will Always Be Remembered

it wwont be the same

we have to keep our heads up high and the show going though ,
its what carl would have wanted
i never expected anythink like this to happen
Well were gonna keep it going just for you carl

R.I.P
All St Franics Off Assisii [ Pupils & Teachers ]
x x x x

 

My dad was a special kind of person as I am sure you all know, he was loved and cherished by many. my heart is broken, I just don’t understand you were my dad, mine! and now just gone. I cant imagine the rest of my life without you I don’t want to imagine the rest of my life without you.
My love for you will only grow.
good night god bless pops.
your baby ab xxx

The funeral will be on Thursday 30th April 12.30 at St Anne’s church prescot road , then on to sprinwood and back to mount Charmal.
I hope we can all give him the send off he deserves.
and notices will be in the Echo Friday 24th April.

We wish to add to the comments above, It came as shock to hear of Carl’s death, he had only just been in the last few weeks as usual to book the removable studio. It came as a huge shock to us all, will be sadly missed.

Ian Fisher
Kevin McIntyre
Eileen Wong
Maria Hornsby
Brian Kendall
and all the staff here at MPAC

I Enjoyed working with Carl He Made Us Laugh I will Really miss him when we do the radio show This year . It will be a shame He wont be Able to hear our broadcast.

 

From Alex And All my friends from St.Michaels School =)

The loud and clear Project will carry on until all of Carls hopes for us are fully accomplished. It is in Carls honour that we are determined to do this as a memorial for every thing he stood for. He will never be forgotten for what he done for us.

 

The loud and clear radio project group, and all at Lime Court would like to offer our sincere sympathy and condolences to Carls Family at this very sad time. Though we only new Carl for a short time it was a privilage and an honour to have known him.He worked with us and alongside of us with great pride and enthusiasm. He helped us overcome our concerns and fears embedding confidence in us and making us feel proud of whom we are despite of our difficulties, he showed us that we can be a great asset to our community. His ability was to make us beleive in our abilities and to fullfill our dreams no matter what barriers or obsticles were in our way. I believe this was Carls phylosophy. So let us remember Carl the way he would want us too.

 

We were all very shocked and saddened to hear of Carl’s death. It was an honour to know him. He has helped the children of Phoenix School so much with their confidence and the ability to communicate and work with others and given them an opportunity that not many children get to do a live show. All the children were very quiet when they were told of Carl’s death and one child said, ‘Well who’s going to make us laugh now’.
On a personal note Carl has helped me through a difficult time these past couple of weeks and I wasn’t surprised at all to learn that he was a councillor. He was a good listener, very caring and wanted the best for others and for them to succeed in life. My thoughts and prayers are with Carl’s family and friends.

 

dad, this will go ahead for you. apart of me has died with you and the only thing that is keeping me going is tom. he has been our rock helping me to look after mum and abbi and the keeping me focused on the baby. miss u millions and millions, love you forever, your toni xxx

 

Sorry to hear about the loss of Carl Speare who was instrumental with KVFM over the years. Sadly collapsed and died last night . I’m sure Carl would like the Radio Show to go on, so I’ll dedicate the first record on my show to him ‘Spirit in the Sky’ by Norman Greenbaum and thank him for the advice and opportunity to ‘go live on air’ Condolances to Jane and the family also. Ray Condell

 

everyone here at sacred heart school who worked alongside carl are deeply saddened to hear of death, teachers and teachers would like to say that working with him was a pleasure and he will be missed greatly.

5 Comments

  1. Well there you have it my very first test transmision on the radio of all things, I must admit I never thought I wouldd be doing a radio broadcast ever. I got to say though, I really enjoyed it, what an experience!! My thanks goes out to all the KVFM gang who made the me feel relaxed, calm, and confident in my hour of need. a big thank you to Dave who got me by the ear and dragged me to the sweat box. Ye I showed him though, who’s the daddy lol. Joking aside I send out my gratitude to all of the KVFM gang at Mcdonald’s who are doing a tremendous job Carl would be very proud. Ho and thanks Sheila, Steve for the Coffee.

  2. Only recently I was talking about this poem with Carl and how I read it to my sons for guidance and inspiration, he said he was himself particularly fond of these words and the message they carry, if you take the time to read it through I’m sure you will agree there is so much of it that embody’s the Carl we knew and loved….

    IF…..

    IF you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
    If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
    But make allowance for their doubting too;
    If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
    Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
    Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
    And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

    If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;
    If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same;
    If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
    Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
    Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
    And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:

    If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
    And lose, and start again at your beginnings
    And never breathe a word about your loss;
    If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
    To serve your turn long after they are gone,
    And so hold on when there is nothing in you
    Except the Will which says to them: ‘Hold on!’

    If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
    ‘ Or walk with Kings – nor lose the common touch,
    if neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
    If all men count with you, but none too much;
    If you can fill the unforgiving minute
    With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
    Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
    And – which is more – you’ll be a Man, my son!

    Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936)

    It was a privilige to work with him and a blessing to have had his friendship. I am honoured to be part of KVfm 2009 and to be carrying this project on in his name, we are going to make you proud.
    Sweet Dreams Carlx

  3. I didnt know Carl for very long but the time i knew him he had a really warm and calming energy that made you feel relaxed.
    I first walked into the radio class in Yellow House, i was really nervous and i told everyone that i dreamt that i was going to be on radio the night before an the next day recieved a newsletter from Kensington Vision asking for local people to present the radio project, it was my dream come true.
    Every session was enjoyable, the people were passionate, Carl was a great mentor, he made each and everyone of us welcome and give everyone the same commitment and expertise and did not leave anyone out. What Carl did for me was create the space for me to find my own style and empowered me to be creative and to stop apologising for my errors.
    Carl was a great teacher who was brilliant at getting the best out of people without even having to give the answers.
    I will miss him being there when im on air but i know he will be looking down on us all. I send my deepest sympathy to his wife and his family, and will take on board all of his notes and will make him proud.

    Good Night

    Jess Singleton

  4. […] Submitted on 2009/04/26 at 11:10pm […]

  5. Carl was a great support to me when I first started working with young people. He patiently helped me to understand his art of youth work and encouraged me no end. It was great working with him, I have learnt such a lot from him and I will always remember that. God bless. My thoughts and prayers are with his family x


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

